Base Vehicle Registration:
All privately owned vehicles driven on base, except those belonging to authorized visitors, must be registered at the Pass and Registration Office, Located in Bldg. 1296 at the West Gate or at the South Gate Reception Center.
|The Reading Room, full of relevant news related to the military family
All active duty and reserve personnel assigned to Hill must register their vehicle within 72 hours of arrival. Proof of a current state emissions test along with a current driver's license and registration are required to register a vehicle on base. Emissions test are available at off-base inspection stations or at the Auto Hobby Shop, Bldg. 534.
All vehicles entering or leaving Hill AFB are subject to search.
Vehicle License Plates:
Utah license plates are obtained at the State Tax Commission Office in Ogden or at the Davis County Courthouse in Farmington. Military personnel do not have to license their motor vehicle in Utah if it is licensed in their state of residence.
Information needed to register a vehicle in Utah includes: most recent registration, title, Utah safety inspection certificate, Utah emissions certificate, serial number (VIN) and the names of all persons that must appear on the new title.
Vehicles with plates from Guam, Puerto Rico or other U.S. territories or U.S. Forces plates from Europe, Korea, Japan or another countries must obtain Utah or other state-of-residence license plate within 60 day of arrival in Utah.
All Utah traffic laws apply on Hill AFB. Seatbelts are mandatory. State, local and base officials can stop vehicles for suspected non-use of seatbelts. Child seat/restraints are mandatory for children. Speed limits on base are 25 mph unless otherwise posted. Utah has a "basic speed law" which prohibits a driver from traveling faster than is reasonably safe. Construction zone speed limits are strictly enforced and speeding fines are doubled. Interstate highway speed is 65 mph and rural interstate highway speed is 75 mph.